National e-Governance Service Delivery Assessment (NeSDA)
Baljit Dhaka

National e-Governance Service Delivery Assessment (NeSDA)

Validity: 9 Months
What you will get
Course Highlights
  • Based on latest Pattern
  • English Medium eBooks
Click to Bookmark
EN हिंदी

National e-Governance Service Delivery Assessment (NeSDA)

Why in news?

  • First-ever National e-Governance Service Delivery Assessment (NeSDA) 2019 rankings were released by the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances.

More About NeSDA 2019

  • It is done for 4 categories: Union territories (7), North-Eastern States, and Hill states (11), Remaining states (18), Central government ministries websites. 
  • It primarily assesses all State/UT and Central Ministry service portals on 7 key parameters: Accessibility, Content Availability, Ease of Use, Information Security & Privacy, End service Delivery, Integrated Service Delivery, and Status & Request Tracking.
  • The framework covers six sectors, viz. Finance, Labour & Employment, Education, Local Government & Utilities, Social Welfare (including Agriculture & Health) and Environment (including Fire).  
  • The assessment was aimed at improving the overall e-Government development by evaluating the efficiency of the service delivery mechanism from a citizen’s perspective. 

Key Recommendations:

  • Creating an Inclusive Digital Ecosystem
  • Mandatory sector-specific service focus to attain SDG Goals
  • e-Literacy for inclusiveness
  • Improvising Accessibility for higher uptake
  • Security and privacy for public data
  • Embracing new-age technologies for improved service delivery
  • Adoption of Standards for uniformity in governance
  • Integrated service delivery – focus on IndEA (India Enterprise Architecture)


  • Delhi, Chandigarh, Daman, and Diu administration have emerged leaders among Union territories across all parameters.
  • Haryana and Rajasthan are the leading states in the assessment under the "remaining states" category comprising 18 states.
  • The website of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) under the Finance Ministry is the winner under the assessment of the central ministry service portals category. Whereas, the ministry portals of Health & Family Welfare and Human Resource have emerged leaders across "all parameters".
  • In terms of portals, Kerala Scored the highest in the states and UTs category.