Island Groups of India - Frontier IAS
Baljit Dhaka

Island Groups of India

Validity: 9 Months
What you will get
Course Highlights
  • Based on latest Pattern
  • English Medium eBooks
Click to Bookmark
EN हिंदी

Island Groups of India

India is a land of natural beauty and islands in India forms a significant part with well-encompassed by lush forests and possess the infinite variety of striking fauna and flora. 

National and International Events Daily current affairs National and international Events Monthly current affairs  National and International Topic wise last one-year current affairs National and International last one-year current affairs 
HCS complete online course Haryana Daily Current Affairs Haryana last one-year current affairs  HCS Integrated test Series Prelims and Mains

Island groups of India: An Introduction

The islands groups of India can be divided into two main groups:

  • Andaman and Nicobar Archipelago (A chain of islands similar in origin) in Bay of Bengal.
  • Lakshadweep islands in Arabian Sea.

1. Andaman and Nicobar Island:

  • This archipelago is composed of 265 big and small islands.
  • [203 Andaman islands + 62 Nicobar Islands].

Entire group of islands is categorized into two broad categories:

  1. The Andaman in the north
  2. The Nicobar in the south
  • The Andaman islands are further divided into three main islands i.e. North, Middle and South Andaman.
  • Duncan passage separates Little Andaman from South Andaman.
  • Ten Degree Channel separates The Great Andaman group of islands in the north from the Nicobar group in the south.
  • Port Blair, the capital of Andaman Nicobar Islands lies in the South Andaman.
  • Most of these islands are made of tertiary sandstone and limestone. 
  • They are bigger in size and more numerous and scattered.
  • The Barren Island is the only active volcano of India, situated in Andaman sea.
  • Some of the islands are fringed with coral reefs. Many of them are covered with thick forests.
  • Saddle peak (737 m) in North Andaman is the highest peak of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

2. Lakshadweep islands:

In the Arabian Sea, there are three types of islands.

  • Amindivi Islands 
  • Laccadive Islands 
  • Minicoy Island.

At present these islands are collectively known as Lakshadweep.

  • The Lakshadweep Islands are a group of 25 small islands.
  • They are widely scattered about 200-500 km south-west of the Kerala coast.
  • Amindivi Islands are the northernmost while the Minicoy island is the southernmost.
  • Most of the islands are of coral origin (Atoll) and are surrounded by fringing reefs.
  • The largest is the Minicoy island with an area of 4.53 sq km.
  • Most of the islands have low elevation and do not rise more than five metre above sea level .
  • The topography of these islands is flat and relief features such as hills, streams, valleys, etc. are absent.

 Significance of Island groups:

  • Great diversity of flora and fauna.
  • Important fishing grounds.
  • The forest in these islands has some good timber e.g. teak, mahogany, etc. 
  • Spices like cloves, cinnamon, cardamom, pepper, etc. are also cultivated here.

You should follow us on 

Frontier IAS Youtube Channel Frontier IAS Facebook Page Frontier IAS Telegram Channel  Frontier IAS Whatsapp 
Pinnacle Youtube Channel Pinnacle Facebook Page Pinnacle Telegram Channel Pinnacle website

You may find the below articles useful 

  1. HCS Previous Year papers
  2. HCS Prelims Syllabus GS and CSAT
  3. HCS Mains and Optional Subjects details
  4. HCS Notification update
  5. HCS Guidance videos 
  6. HCS exam online course
  7. HCS Test Series