HCS Exam 2020 Last Year Topic Wise Current Affairs: Sport-V
Baljit Dhaka

HCS Exam 2020 Last Year Topic Wise Current Affairs: Sport-V

Validity: 9 Months
What you will get
Course Highlights
  • Based on latest Pattern
  • English Medium eBooks
Click to Bookmark
EN हिंदी

HCS Last One Year Topic Wise Current Affairs: Sports Part-V

Haryana Civil Services Exam


Last one-year Current Affairs For HCS Exam: Sports Part-V

1. Nethra Kumanan has become the first Indian woman to win a medal at the Sailing World Cup.

  • She clinched bronze in the Hempel World Series which concluded in Miami, United States on January 25.
  • Nethra finished behind Erika Reineke of the US and Greece's Vasileia Karachaliou who won gold and silver respectively in the laser radial category
  • Nethra, who represented India in the 2014 and 2018 editions of the Asian Games, has won quite a few medals at the Nationals. 
  • Nethra spends a majority of her training time at Gran Canaria, part of Spain's Canary Islands

2. Rubigula, Flame-Throated Bulbul, has been unveiled as the official mascot for the Goa 2020 National Games in Panaji.

  • Goa will be hosting the 36th edition of the National Games from 20th October to 4th November 2020.
  • The event will see participation by 36 states and union territories, 12,000 athletes, officials and will host 37 sports disciplines across 24 venues in Goa.
  • The Flame-Throated Bulbul is the state bird of Goa.
  • Chief Minister of Goa Pramod Sawant and Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Kiren Rijiju were present at the unveiling ceremony.

3. America's Sofia Kenin stunned two-time Major champion Garbine Muguruza to win the Australian Open in her first Grand Slam final 

  • Kenin, 21, showed all her trademark aggression as she fought back from a set down to win it 4-6, 6-2, 6-2 in 2hrs 3mins
  • . At 21 years and 80 days, Kenin is 22 days younger than Japan's Naomi Osaka when she won the title last year.
  •  She is the youngest champion since Maria Sharapova won aged 20 in 2008.

4. Novak Djokovic(Serbia) beat Dominic Thiem in the final of the 2020 Australian Open. 

  • This is his eighth Australian title and 17th Grand Slam win overall. 
  • Djokovic beat Thiem 6-4, 4-6, 2-6, 6-3, 6-4 in a match that lasted four hours.

 Australian Open Winners 2020 -

  • Men's Singles- Novak Djokovic(Serbia)
  • Women's Singles.-Sofia Kenin(USA)
  • Men's Double - Rajeev Ram (USA) and Joe Salisbury(UK) 
  • Women's Double - Tímea Babos( Hungary) and Kristina Mladenovic (France) 
  • Mixed Double- Barbora Krej?íková(Czech Republic) and Nikola Mekti? (Croatia) 

5. The first Khelo India Ice Hockey Championship 2020 trophy men's section was lifted by the Indian Army’s Ladakh Scout Regimental Centre (LSRC) Red team beating ITBP

  • The tournament, which started on January 30, had been organized by the District Youth Services & Sports in collaboration with Ladakh Winter Sports Club, Leh.
  •  A total of 13 teams participated in the first-ever Khelo India Ice Hockey Championship.

6. Indian professional hockey player Lalremsiami (19) from  Mizoram was voted the best FIH (International Hockey Federation) Women’s Rising Star of the Year 2019.

  • Lalremsiami defeated Argentina’s Julieta Jankunas and the Netherlands’ Frederique Matla, who finished second and third respectively & received 40 % of the vote. She made her debut in 2017 in a test series against Belarus.
  • At the same time, the Indian team’s midfielder Vivek Sagar Prasad (19) was selected as the best FIH Men’s Rising Star of the Year 2019.
  • Prasad won the award, beating Argentina’s Maico Casella and Blake Govers of Australia, who finished second and third respectively.
  • He was also part of the silver medal-winning team in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in 2019.

7. Mizoram emerged triumphant in the final of the Hero Junior National Football Championship for the Dr. BC Roy Trophy at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Shillong defeating Punjab on penalties.

The BC Roy Trophy is an Indian football tournament for players under 19 years of age. The competition is held every year between the under-19 teams representing the states of India.

8. India’s lone woman Paralympic medalist Deepa Malik from Sonipat, Haryana, has been elected as President of the Paralympic Committee of India. 

  • Malik won silver in Shot Put at Rio 2016 and was elected unopposed.
  • The results of the elections are to be scrutinized by the Delhi High Court.
  •  The Indian Sports Ministry ‘ de-recognized’ the PCI last year after the sacking of then-president Rao Inderjit Singh. 
  • New secretary general Gursharan Singh, (who had been interim president after Rao Inderjit Singh’s removal) assured to regain the recognition of the Sports Ministry. 

9. The Indian women’s team captain Rani Rampal has become the first-ever hockey player to win the prestigious “World Games Athlete of the Year” Award.

  • Last year, India won the FIH Series Finals, and Rani was named Player of the Tournament. Under Rani’s leadership, the Indian women’s team qualified for just the third Olympic Games in its history.
  • “This prestigious award is also great recognition for hockey globally.
  • Karate star Stanislav Horuna of Ukraine was second behind Rani with over 92,000 votes and Canadian powerlifting world champion Rhaea Stinn was third.

10. Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan has announced his retirement from all forms of Cricket.

  •  Irfan has been out of the Indian team for a few years now.
  • He made his Team India debut at the age of 19 in 2003.
  •  All-rounder Irfan Pathan has announced his retirement from all forms of cricket, ending an injury-ridden career that prevented him from realizing his true potential.
  • The 35-year-old's retirement was on expected lines, considering he last played a competitive game in February 2019 during the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy for Jammu and Kashmir.
  • Before turning up for Jammu and Kashmir as a player cum mentor in 2018, Pathan played all his domestic cricket for Baroda.

11. Norwegian chess sensation Magnus Carlsen has won the 2019 World Blitz crown in the Russian capital of Moscow.

  • After 21 tours, the 29-year-old chess grandmaster scored 16.5 points together with American counterpart Hikaru Nakamura. 
  • Russia’s Vladimir Kramnik finished third with one more representative of Russia, Alexander Grishuk, taking fourth place in the final standings.
  • With his victory, Carlsen becomes a five-time World Blitz champion, winning the title for the third straight year.

12. The 19-year-old women’s rugby player Sweety Kumari was named as the “international young player of the year” by popular women’s rugby website Scrumqueens.

  • Sweety hails from village Nawada in Barh Tehsil of Patna, and her father is a handyman while her mother works for Anganwadi, reported Indian Express.
  • The 19-year-old was earlier picked as 'continent’s fastest player' by Asia Rugby.
  • Sweety started off as a sprinter following the footsteps of her brother and later switched to Rugby on the insistence of a rugby coach.

13. India's P Magesh Chandran lifted the title in the 95th edition of the prestigious Hastings International Chess Congress at  Hastings in England. 

  • He remained unbeaten in all nine rounds. 
  • The 36-year old Grand Master with a FIDE rating of 2479, finished in clear first place with 7.5 points from nine games.